You Mean To Tell Me That We Have Been Here For Two Months

I told you guys I was going to struggle to keep this blog going consecutively. I know it has been awhile since I last posted, but really I have just been working and going to school it’s not that exciting. Actually wait that’s not true because I am in London! On the real though I have just been walking around seeing the city and making sure I soak up as much as I can for the short time I am here.  I am quickly starting to realize how fast my time here is going, and I am not a fan.  I am sure not even ready to think to about leaving this magical city.  It would be quite easy if you could just see and hear everything I was doing it would sure save me a lot of explaining, but you probably do not want to be inside my head. It’s kind of confusing up there.

 Anyway getting back on track to my life in London I have been taking an Art and Society class whilst I am here. Two weeks ago (it really has been a long time since I posted a blog) we went to the Royal Academy of Arts.  They were showing a special exhibition called Sensing Spaces.  It was about architecture and how it is still a part of art.  It consisted of 6 rooms that were each designed by a different architect. It was a very interactive exhibition.  You were able to climb up a modern day tree house, or run through a maze, and you were even were allowed to make one piece of architecture your own by adding to it.  Intrigued?  All of the different rooms gave you a different feeling. Some made you feel like a little kid, some made you feel cold while others left you with a calm sensation.

All the different rooms in the Royal Academy of Arts

All the different rooms in the Royal Academy of Arts

 

 

Last week was GIS week which stands for something independent study I am drawing a blank on what the G stands for at the point.  So basically this week was a reading week and if you are not college or have never heard of a reading week or GIS week it means they cancel most classes.  Most student’s dream. All of my classes were cancelled, but I still had to go to my internship. Lucky enough for me I was able to switch my days around a little and worked Monday and Tuesday so I got a five day weekend!  Wednesday I decided to wake up early and by early I mean 10am, and go for a run.  I had wanted to go to back to Hyde Park, so I started off on my journey only just because I like to be difficult I did not run to Hyde Park by the only route I knew I how to get there.  Instead I took a different way just sort of ran through the streets in the general direction of the park.  I got there without any hiccups except for when I ended up by very ritzy stores (Prada, Gucci, and Michael Kors) because they did not seem very pleased with my choice of attire so I hustled my way through that area.  Once I got to Hyde Park I began to just walk around and look for a little café to grab a bite to eat. In a city so big I never would think I would run into someone I knew when low and behold I literally ran into Morgan.  We decided we were both hungry and found this little café to grab a delicious tomato, basil, and mozzarella sandwich.  When we were getting our food some man came up to me thinking I was his daughter or looked like his daughter which I assured him that was not the case. Then he told me I must be Hungarian and I had to assure yet again I was not.  Then he told me I must be Sagittarius for I seemed so tough (I am not tough) and I had to disappoint and tell him I was not.  Then he was certain I did not eat because I was so little and for the final time I assured him I do eat and I was about to prove it right then and there by buying a sandwich and pastry.  Poor guy I was just a whole lot of disappoint.

Hyde Park

Hyde Park

 

 

Hyde Park

Hyde Park

Nothing terribly exciting happened the rest of week I just roamed the city and wrote a paper because I am in school so doing homework is necessary. Now if anyone knows me at all they know I have minor obsession with Harry Potter, okay maybe minor is not the right word.  I have been entranced by the books ever since my mom picked one up and started reading them to me.  Poor lady had to explain to me words like Hogwarts and muggle before she even knew what they meant. I am glad she stuck with it though because this is where my love for reading grew.  Now you might be wondering why I am going off a slight tangent about Harry Potter, but it is no tangent for on Saturday API took us to the Harry Potter Studio Tour. I am sure now you can imagine my excitement. It was like waking up on Christmas morning. I was probably giddier at 8am than I ever have been my entire life.  We had an hour long bus ride and with tea as my trusty sidekick we got through it just fine.  The whole bus ride I just kept visually the movies, the characters, and the words on the page.  Then when we got there we were greeted by the giant chess pieces.  I knew this was going to be a good day.  Kaleo was very reluctant to go in to the tour for she did not want to ruin the movie for herself which I completely understood especially after going through the tour.  It is nice to believe it is all real it is as if you are able to be a little kid forever. With a lot of persuading and the notion that if you went in you got butterbeer Kaleo decided to go through, but on one condition. She was going to keep her head down and someone was going to have to guide her through. I volunteered…as tribute. Sorry I had to stick that in there.  I cannot really explain what I saw because it was so overwhelming and there was so much.  I got to walk through the Great Hall, peak my head in the boy’s dormitory, glance into the Burrow kitchen, sit in Hagrid’s motorcycle, and walk through the lovely street of Diagon Alley. I sampled some butterbeer and I do not believe I would be able to have more than one it is incredibly sweet!  I can say this the pictures do not do it justice. It is one of those experiences you just cannot describe. 

Hagrid's Hut

Hagrid’s Hut

Dumbledore's Office

Dumbledore’s Office

Platform 9 3/4 Ticket

Platform 9 3/4 Ticket

Mr. Weasley's Flying Car

Mr. Weasley’s Flying Car

Diagon Alley

Diagon Alley

Hogwarts Castle

Hogwarts Castle

Wands

Wands

That about concludes this post. I will try better next time to keep up with it! I am not making any promises though.

 

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

